Nail Salon Permit Requirements in Greenville, SC
Complete permit and license guide for starting a nail salon in Greenville, Greenville County, South Carolina.
Not legal advice. Requirements may change — always verify with your local government authority before applying. Key agencies and fees on this page were re-checked against official government sources on .
Federal — start here
1 stopEIN (Employer Identification Number)
Required if you have employees or operate as an LLC or corporation. Free from the IRS.
Official government source for EIN (Employer Identification Number) (opens in a new tab)FreeImmediate (online application)
Free
Immediate (online application)
State of South Carolina
2 stopsSouth Carolina Nail Technician License (per technician)
Each nail technician must hold a valid South Carolina Nail Technician (Manicurist) License from the SC LLR Board of Cosmetology. SC Code 40-13-230 requires at least 300 hours of classes at a board-approved nail technician school, plus passing the state board examination. Individual licenses renew biennially (SC Code 40-13-250).
Official government source for South Carolina Nail Technician License (per technician) (opens in a new tab)$45 examination/initial fee; $52 biennial renewal; $152 reinstatement (SC Board of Cosmetology fee schedule)Not published by the Board — depends on exam scheduling and transcript verification; confirm with the SC Board of Cosmetology
$45 examination/initial fee; $52 biennial renewal; $152 reinstatement (SC Board of Cosmetology fee schedule)
Not published by the Board — depends on exam scheduling and transcript verification; confirm with the SC Board of Cosmetology
South Carolina Department of Revenue — Retail License
Every person who engages in business in South Carolina as a retailer must obtain a Retail License from the SC Department of Revenue before making any retail sales subject to sales and use tax, including internet sales and infrequent sales. A separate licence is required for each retail outlet. The licence does not have to be renewed while the same taxpayer keeps operating at the same location, but a new application is required after a change of ownership or after 24 months with no sales.
Official government source for South Carolina Department of Revenue — Retail License (opens in a new tab)$50 per location, non-refundable, and it is a one-time fee rather than an annual charge (S.C. Code Section 12-36-510(A)(1)). The statewide sales and use tax rate is 6%; SCDOR states counties may impose an additional 1% local sales tax where voters approve it, and the applicable local rates are published in forms ST-500 and ST-575.Not published by SCDOR. Applying through MyDORWAY is the fastest route — confirm current issuance time when you apply.
$50 per location, non-refundable, and it is a one-time fee rather than an annual charge (S.C. Code Section 12-36-510(A)(1)). The statewide sales and use tax rate is 6%; SCDOR states counties may impose an additional 1% local sales tax where voters approve it, and the applicable local rates are published in forms ST-500 and ST-575.
Not published by SCDOR. Applying through MyDORWAY is the fastest route — confirm current issuance time when you apply.
City of Greenville / Greenville County
2 stopsSouth Carolina Board of Cosmetology — Salon License (nail salon)
A nail salon in South Carolina is licensed as a 'Salon' by the SC LLR Board of Cosmetology. An inspection is required on an initial application before the license is issued, and each nail technician working there holds a separate individual license.
Official government source for South Carolina Board of Cosmetology — Salon License (nail salon) (opens in a new tab)$100 initial salon application fee and $72 renewal, per LLR's published Board of Cosmetology fee schedule (the schedule does not state the renewal interval). Individual nail technician licenses are $45 by examination or $60 by endorsement, with a $52 renewal.Not published by the board. Processing depends on scheduling the required pre-licensure inspection — confirm current timing with the Board of Cosmetology.
$100 initial salon application fee and $72 renewal, per LLR's published Board of Cosmetology fee schedule (the schedule does not state the renewal interval). Individual nail technician licenses are $45 by examination or $60 by endorsement, with a $52 renewal.
Not published by the board. Processing depends on scheduling the required pre-licensure inspection — confirm current timing with the Board of Cosmetology.
City of Greenville Business License
All businesses conducting business within the City of Greenville must hold a business license, issued by the city's Business License & Revenue Center (Finance Department). The license is renewed annually and must be displayed at the place of business.
Official government source for City of Greenville Business License (opens in a new tab)Calculated from gross receipts (projected for a new business) using the city's NAICS rate-class schedule — see the Business License Calculators on the city site. There is no flat annual amount.Not published by the city. Apply to the Business License & Revenue Center before beginning business and confirm current processing time with that office.
Calculated from gross receipts (projected for a new business) using the city's NAICS rate-class schedule — see the Business License Calculators on the city site. There is no flat annual amount.
Not published by the city. Apply to the Business License & Revenue Center before beginning business and confirm current processing time with that office.
Terminus
Open for business — est. $300–$900 · 4–10 weeks to obtain all permits and licenses
Want this mapped to your exact business and structure, in filing order?
Official Sources
Related Guides
Other business types in Greenville, SC
- Auto Repair Shop Permit Requirements in Greenville, SC
- Barber Shop Permit Requirements in Greenville, SC
- Bookkeeping Permit Requirements in Greenville, SC
- Catering Business Permit Requirements in Greenville, SC
- Cleaning Service Permit Requirements in Greenville, SC
- Daycare / Child Care Center Permit Requirements in Greenville, SC